Bakken Shale

Bakken Shale
Bakken Overview: The Bakken Shale and the underlying Three Forks formation are both part of the Williston Basin, which spans portions of North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan. Read More

Bakken Counties: ND: Billings, Burke, Divide, Dunn, McKenzie Read More

Bakken Pipelines (natural gas): Northern Border, WBI Energy Transmission Read More

Bakken Net Acreage Table: A table detailing the net acreage owned by various companies in the Bakken play. View Table


Iowa Regulators Deny Request to Expedite Bakken Oil Pipeline

In the wake of their conditioned approval earlier this month, Iowa regulators refused to be rushed, and denied a request from Energy Transfer Partners' (ETP) Dakota Access Pipeline to expedite approval of a permit to begin construction of a crude oil interstate pipeline that is primed to break ground in three other states. Read More


Bakken Shale Gallery

A gallery of all of the images related to the Bakken shale.